AUGUSTA, MAINE — Secretary of State Matt Dunlap announced today that a special election in State Senate District 19 will be held on Tuesday, August 27, 2013. The election is required to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of State Senator Seth Goodall who submitted his letter of resignation to Governor Paul LePage on July 10, 2013.

State Senate District 19 is comprised of the municipalities of Arrowsic, Bath, Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Dresden, Georgetown, Phippsburg, Richmond, Topsham, West Bath, Woolwich and the unorganized township of Perkins.

In accordance with the Maine Constitution and Title 21-A, Maine law on Elections, Governor LePage issued a proclamation declaring the vacancy and ordering the appropriate political committees to meet. The Sagadahoc and Lincoln County Democratic, Green Independent and Republican committees have until 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, July 30, 2013, to file a Certificate of Nomination with the Secretary of State in order to place the name of a candidate on the Special Election ballot. A caucus of the county committee members residing within Senatorial District 19 will be held to nominate a candidate. The caucus will be called and conducted under the applicable party rules.

Nomination petitions for candidates who are not enrolled in a party are available through the Division of Elections. Non-party candidate petitions, containing the signatures of at least 200 qualified electors, must be filed with the Secretary of State by 5 p.m., Tuesday, July 30, 2013. Any registered voter who resides within the district may sign the petition, regardless of political party designation. Any candidate who wishes to run as a write-in candidate must file a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy with the Secretary of State by 5 p.m., Tuesday, August 6, 2013. The Declaration form is available through the Division of Elections.

Voters in Senate District 19 may now request an absentee ballot for the special election from their municipal clerk. Absentee ballots will be made available once the candidates are reported to the Secretary of State by the respective political parties, or once any non-party candidates file the required petitions.

Did you like this? Share it: